Responsible Alcohol Use
Students are responsible for respecting laws, ordinances and University policies regarding alcohol use
Minnesota Laws Related to Alcohol
- It is against state law to consume, purchase or possess alcohol if you are younger than 21 years old.
- Minnesota state law that grants immunity from criminal prosecution for underage consumption or possession of alcohol of a person who calls 911 to report that they or another is in need of medical attention due to an alcohol overdose. The person who receives medical attention will also be immune from prosecution. The University may still take disciplinary action in these situations.
- Individuals are criminally responsible for hosting or permitting a gathering where persons under 21 years of age possess or consume alcohol regardless of who supplied the alcohol.
University Policies Regarding Alcohol
- Students are held responsible under the Student Conduct Code for illegal or unauthorized possession or use of alcohol.
- In the residence halls and apartments, residents under the age of 21 may not possess, consume or be in the presence of alcohol.
If You Decide to Drink...
- Know and follow Minnesota laws and University policies regarding alcohol.
- Watch how much your friends have had to drink and help them if they appear to be in trouble. Don’t be afraid to call for help.
- Know how much you drink and the effect it has on you.
- Use a designated driver that is sober.
- Don’t leave your drink unattended or accept drinks from strangers.
Support for Students
The University has resources available to support students in making decisions about alcohol. Click here for some online information and assessment tools around alcohol and drug usage.